We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Notes on Heartbreak

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781398705494

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 22nd June 2023

Genre: Health & Personal Development

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Arresting and vivid, raw and breathtaking…told with stunning originality’ DOLLY ALDERTON, author of EVERYTHING I KNOW ABOUT LOVE

‘Annie Lord tells us a story at once both specific and universal’ SHON FAYE, author of THE TRANSGENDER ISSUE

‘An electrifying debut’ CAROLINE O’DONOGHUE, author of THE RACHEL INCIDENT

Dark, fierce and raw, Notes on Heartbreak is a love story told in reverse…

Reeling from a broken heart, Annie Lord revisits the past – from the moment she first fell in love, the shared in-jokes and intertwining of a long-term relationship, to the months that saw the slow erosion of a bond five years in the making.

Charting her attempts to move on, Annie explores the ups and downs of being newly single, from disastrous rebound sex to sending ill-advised nudes, stalking your ex’s new girlfriend on Instagram and the sharp indignity of being ghosted.

This stunning exploration of love and heartbreak from cult journalist and Vogue columnist Annie Lord, is so much more than a book about one singular break-up. It is an unflinchingly honest account of the simultaneous joy and pain of being in love that will resonate with anyone who has ever nursed a broken heart.

It’s a book about the best and worst of love: the euphoric and the painful, the beautiful and the messy.

Perfect for fans of Everything I Know About Love, Conversations on Love and Three Women.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

It is an unflinchingly honest reminder of the simultaneous joy and pain of being in love that will resonate with anyone that has ever nursed a broken heart
RTE Online
Annie Lord released her debut book in 2022 and, if you've ever been through a breakup, it's sure to get you in your feels. This release charts the ups and downs of a long-term relationship and explores the ways it slowly began to come apart - all with a precise, unsparing eye.
COSMOPOLITAN
A deep meditation on the anguish of a modern heartbreak, where Lord's unique writing helps the emotions fly
The Candid Bookclub, The Guardian
Free of pretence and painfully relatable for anyone who has ever dealt with heartbreak, this cathartic retelling acts as a reminder of the dichotomies of love - the euphoric highs and crushing lows - and its beautiful, messy realities
Luxury London
Notes On Heartbreak is a seamless transition from columns to books for Annie Lord, who maintains her magnetic writing style over a longer form . . . Watch out for people crying, laughing and reciting passages to friends and family, as they cling to this book
THE HERALD
An unflinching and raw exploration of a relationship and its ending, taking in all the joy, pain and messiness of being in love
SHEERLUXE
It's painful, cathartic and beautifully written - The Best Books of 2022
TIME OUT
Annie Lord's unhinged but unflinchingly honest memoir delivers up some relatable introspection when it comes to love and loss, ripe for exploring one of the most universal experiences in humanity
REFINERY29
She writes about intimacy in a way that's relatable, poetic and makes you think that maybe your own heartbreaks are really as quietly earth-shattering as you thought they were... It's a sparkling and deliciously indulgent read which gets right into your chest and stays with you afterwards. It's someone else's story, but it will make you think about your own.
VICE
The book is cleverly structured and written with unflinching honesty
THE IRISH TIMES
Your perception of love, life and starting afresh will be altered for the better
The I Paper
Vogue dating columnist Annie Lord's debut, Notes on Heartbreak, is a visceral yet funny recollection of the breakdown of her five-year-relationship, told in her distinctive, lyrical style . . . It's difficult to write about experiences as complex as love and heartbreak without sounding either cheesy or melodramatic, but somehow, Lord nails it. Anyone who's ever been unceremoniously dumped will find themselves furiously underlining the book's most resonant passages
The Best Books of 2022 - DAZED
A book on love and loss to get the emotions (read: tears) flowing. One of this summer's most anticipated books
Bustle
The debut book from Vogue's dating columnist is heartbreaking, touching, funny - and one to be shared around all your friends who despair about modern dating, whether they're recovering from heartbreak or not
GRAZIA
Annie Lord's visceral exploration of love and heartbreak will resonate with us all.
STYLIST
Raw and beautifully tender
Suitcase Magazine
It's good, all of this - nearly everyone knows the specific, towering grief of being walked out on by the person whose limbs they woke up tangled in in the morning, but few write about it so directly, so unblinkingly.
The Times