Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

An Italian Affair

An Italian Affair

A sweeping tale of love, betrayal and war, set against the glorious Tuscan countryside. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Dinah Jeffries



Love. War. Family. Betrayal.

Italy, 1935. Alessandra Durante is grieving the loss of her husband when she discovers she has inherited her ancestral family home, Villa Durante, deep in the Tuscan Hills. The terms of the will are that she must live in the Villa Durante for at least twelve months so, longing for a new start, she move to Italy and sets about rebuilding her life.

But the shadow of war hangs heavy over the Tuscan hills and life will never be the same again.

As Mussolini’s power greatens and Hitler starts to agitate further north, life changes for everyone in the tiny village of Cortona and Alessandra makes her home a place of shelter for a local Jewish boy, Davide. Her daughter Diana will lose her heart to Davide, even though they can never be together. And Robert, Alessandra’s son, will fight for his country first as a pilot in the Battle of Britain and then as an SOE in Italy.


They will all love and lose, but will they survive the war…?

(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 21st March 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781409180807