Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Love Story, With Murders

Love Story, With Murders

A freezing cold winter. A dead body from the past. A tale of love – and murder.

A human leg is discovered in a suburban freezer. The victim is a teenage girl killed some ten years earlier. But then other body parts start appearing. And these ones are male, dark-skinned, and very fresh…

Is this a tangled tale of love gone wrong? Or are there more sinister lines connecting the dead bodies to a recent tragedy in a Cardiff prison, and an engineering company that’s up to a whole lot more than is first apparent?

Fiona Griffiths starts to investigate, in the midst of the coldest winter on record. Up in a remote cottage in the Welsh Black Mountains, she finds the data that contains the clue to the entire mystery. But, as the first snow starts to fall, she discovers that she’s not alone…

Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:

‘Compelling…a new crime talent to treasureDaily Mail

A dark delight, and I look forward to Fiona’s future struggles with criminals, her demons and the mysteries of her past’ Washington Post

‘With Detective Constable Fiona ‘Fi’ Griffiths, Harry Bingham…finds a sweet spot in crime fiction…think Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander…[or] Lee Child’s Jack Reacher… The writing is terrific’ The Boston Globe

‘A police procedural with a twist. Quirky, gripping, and rather like its lead character, utterly unconventional. That’s what makes it such a delight to read. Highly recommended’ Crime Thriller Girl

‘A cracking read that is both fresh and compelling’ Red Handed

Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:
1. Talking to the Dead
2. Love Story, With Murders
3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths
4. This Thing of Darkness
5. The Dead House
6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)

If you’re looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you’ve just found it.

** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th March 2014

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409137238

Reviews

Fiona Griffiths is one of the most unusual and engaging characters in British crime fiction. Those who haven't yet encountered Fiona will be drawn into a beautifully crafted world
SINEAD CROWLEY
LOVE STORY, WITH MURDERS is a dark delight. Fiona is one of the more improbable but, in her own way, endearing cops I've ever come across
WASHINGTON POST
Superbly compulsive!
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
There is a complex and very clever double mystery here, and what makes the story unique is the parallel unraveling of Fiona's own mystery, and it's her voice, established precisely in the first book but given even freer rein here, that makes it so compelling.
TANGLED WEB
This compelling crime novel... amply proves the freshness and flair that he [Bingham] has brought to the police procedural. Written with unexpected warmth and wry observation, it brings its gruesome story to life without turning the stomach. ..Surprisingly delicate, it weaves a sinuous, seductive spell and confirms we have a new crime talent to treasure.
DAILY MAIL
A most intriguing, if peculiar, detective ... Although this volatile protagonist dominates the first-person narrative, Bingham doesn't stint on plot (very complicated), procedures (very detailed) or action (very brutal)
NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW
Compelling and claustrophic, Without a doubt, Fiona Griffiths is one of crime's most memorable heroines
SARAH HILARY
One of the most interesting and complicated protagonists in current UK crime fiction. Truly unforgettable
MICK HERRON
Intriguing and compelling - I love Fiona Griffiths
SHARON BOLTON
They say there is nothing new under the sun... I have to say that in a lifetime of reading crime fiction I have never come across anyone quite like Fiona Griffiths... Read this book. Enjoy every syllable. Hold your breath, and tick off the weeks until the next one.
CRIME FICTION LOVER
Praise for gripping, atmosphere Fiona Griffiths crime thriller series: Chilling, atmospheric and so gripping it hurts. You won't read a better crime novel this year
Mark Edwards
"Enjoyable crime writing. Vividly depicted, atmospheric and very enjoyable."
TELEGRAPH & ARGUS
Gripping...Fiona Griffiths kept me hooked to the last page and left me hungry for more
RACHEL ABBOTT
I have to say that in a lifetime of reading crime fiction I have never come across anyone quite like Fiona Griffiths...Read this book. Enjoy every syllable. Hold your breath, and tick off the weeks until the next one
CRIME FICTION LOVER
Fiona [is] one of the more improbable but, in her own way, endearing cops I've ever come across ... what really matters in this novel is the sweet, strange complexities of Fiona's mind. LOVE STORY, WITH MURDERS is a dark delight, and I look forward to Fiona's future struggles with criminals, her demons and the mysteries of her past
WASHINGTON POST
In a word - brilliant. One of the most enjoyable crime novels I've read in a while
JAMES OSWALD
Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure
DAILY MAIL