Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Dead House

The Dead House

‘Chilling, atmospheric and so gripping it hurts. The Dead House is a masterpiece. You won’t read a better crime novel this year’ MARK EDWARDS

On a wild October night, the body of a young woman is found in a remote country churchyard. She’s wearing nothing but a thin, white dress. There are no marks of violence and no obvious cause of death.

Who is the victim? Why is she here?

But another young woman went missing from the area a few years back, and DC Fiona Griffiths soon suspects a crime even more chilling than she first imagined.

Will she unlock the secrets of the dead house? Or will she become its next victim?

Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:

‘One of the most interesting and complicated protagonists in current UK crime fiction. Truly unforgettable’ Mick Herron

‘In a word – brilliant. One of the most enjoyable crime novels I’ve read in a while’ James Oswald

‘This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a likeable, maverick detective destined for a bestseller following’ Choice

‘Compelling…a new crime talent to treasureDaily Mail

Gritty, compelling…a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year’ USA Today

Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:
1. Talking to the Dead
2. Love Story, With Murders
3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths
4. This Thing of Darkness
5. The Dead House
6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)

If you’re looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you’ve just found it.

** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 23rd March 2017

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781409152767

Reviews

Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure
DAILY MAIL
Fiona Griffiths is a wonderful character, an absolute breath of fresh air. The Dead House had me intrigued from the start and I can't wait for more from my new favourite heroine
JENNY BLACKHURST
'I have been sufficiently intrigued by Fiona to go back to the first book in the series... This has caused me to abandon the novel I had started and[sic] lots of things I should be reading.'
HARRIET DEVINE’S BLOG
'Bingham's cop is an original and complex character; a different kind of policewoman... The Dead House is book five in the series, though the first I have read, meaning I am tracking the previous four urgently, to find out more about Fiona Griffiths, a truly fascinating character.
SHOTS
Intriguing and compelling - I love Fiona Griffiths
SHARON BOLTON
Praise for gripping, atmospheric crime thriller THE DEAD HOUSE: Chilling, atmospheric and so gripping it hurts. The Dead House is a masterpiece. You won't read a better crime novel this year
MARK EDWARDS
'I could go, probably even without giving away the plot... but you really should discover Fiona for yourself'
MYSTERY PEOPLE
'Five novels in, Bingham has his protagonist's voice down pat... A series that, you'd guess is in its pomp. Its lead is established, even familiar, yet maintains enough secrets to keep you reading. Impressive.'
CRIME SCENE
'A terrific, intriguing heroine.'
WOMAN & HOME
Compelling and claustrophobic. Without a doubt, Fiona Griffiths is one of crime's most memorable heroines
SARAH HILARY
In a word - brilliant. One of the most enjoyable crime novels I've read in a while
JAMES OSWALD
The unwinding of a clever plot is interesting and the depiction of unfamiliar men masterly
LITERARY REVIEW
Gripping ... Fiona Griffiths kept me hooked to the last page and left me hungry for more
RACHEL ABBOTT
Fiona Griffiths is one of the most unusual and engaging characters in British crime fiction. Those who haven't yet encountered Fiona will be drawn into a beautifully crafted world
SINEAD CROWLEY
'Hallelujah, a new case for DS Fiona Griffiths, and it's as wildly wacky and entertaining as I hoped.'
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
One of the most interesting and complicated protagonists in current UK crime fiction. Truly unforgettable
MICK HERRON
'I am an out and out fan of Fiona's. She will go down in literary crime history as a strong contender for the most memorable character ever. Bravo, Harry! Keep going!'
BOOK POST MORTEM
Brilliant. Only one issue stands out after this novel: why aren't Harry Bingham's books number one on every chart? This is the fifth Griffiths novel... I, for one, will be going out and getting the others. Immediately. So should you
CRIME FICTION LOVER
Griffiths gets more interesting with each book
TIMES