Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Deep Dark Water

Deep Dark Water

This title was previously published in 2017 with the original title, ‘The Devil’s Claw’

‘With a unique protagonist, and a brilliant setting, Lara Dearman creates more tension than a suspension bridge as you hold your breath through the book.’ Helen Fields, author of Perfect Silence

An atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths.

Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe.

Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper.

After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years.

Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to ‘Fritz’, the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected.

But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.

And home is the last place she should be.

DEEP DARK WATER introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert.

*************************

‘A dark, thrilling murder mystery in a richly-realised setting–the best debut I’ve read this year’ Mason Cross, author of Don’t Look for Me

‘Highly competent . . . and appealingly heartfelt’ Kirkus Reviews

‘Atmospheric and tense. Superb!’ Isabel Ashdown, author of Little Sister

‘A powerful debut. with smooth prose and engaging characters, Dearman draws her readers into a tangle web of secrets’ Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King’s Daughter

What readers have said about Deep Dark Water:

‘Atmospheric and superbly written’ Amazon

‘A real page turner, keeping you guessing until the end’ Amazon

‘Superb new series with great characters and amazing scenery. Loved it!’ Amazon

‘A deadly mystery, with its roots in the historical past. I am so hooked!’ Goodreads

‘This is a hugely assured and absorbing debut novel’ Goodreads
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 24th August 2018

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781409191759