Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Somewhere Close to Happy

Somewhere Close to Happy

‘A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart… Unforgettable.’ – Claire Douglas, bestselling author

Lizzie James is happy.
She has a steady office job (with a steady stream of snacks), has had the same best friend since school, and she sees her family every Thursday night for take-away and trashy TV. Lizzie likes her uncomplicated life.

Then a letter arrives one day from her first love, Roman. A letter dated the day he disappeared, 12 years before. As Lizzie uncovers the secrets of the letter, she discovers what really happened the year her life fell apart – and all avenues lead back to Roman.

Lizzie James thought she was happy, or somewhere close to happy, at least. Now she’s not so sure.

‘I LOVED Somewhere Close to Happy. It made me cry several times but was also really funny. It is incredibly good and I am sure it will be huge.’ – Laura Marshall, bestselling author of Friend Request

*Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Mhairi McFarlane and Cecelia Ahern and Kate Eberlen’s Miss You. This is a novel you won’t soon forget.*
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 13th June 2019

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781409184140

Reviews

Lia Louis could give PS I Love You author Cecilia Ahern a run for her money with this funny and moving debut.
Sunday Post
I thought it was both a funny and heart-warming story... Louis's is a bold, standout voice in the women's fiction genre and Somewhere Close To Happy deserves to be huge.
Gillian McAllister
In her protagonist Lizzie, Lia has created a character whose journey and emotional depth is a triumph.
Woman's Weekly Fiction Special
You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll love this warm and tender story.
Claire Frost, Fabulous Magazine, The Sun
Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once. Somewhere Close to Happy is a gem of a book - funny, touching and true
Stacey Halls
Told with warmth, this is an enjoyable, bittersweet page-turner.
Good Housekeeping
Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health
Jill Mansell
I loved it. I want more. It is just exquisitely written. So tender and packed with emotion but also great humour. It deserves to soar.
Claire Allan
Beautiful, raw, emotional, gripping. Roman and Lizzie will burrow into your hearts and never leave.
Lynsey James
Oh my god, I LOVED Somewhere Close to Happy. It made me cry several times but was also really funny. It is so incredibly good.
Laura Marshall
This book is beautiful. The writing is generous and kind and funny. I fell in love with the story and the characters, it made me feel hopeful, and I cried. Lia is such a talented, wonderful writer.
Hayley Webster
A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart. I laughed, cried and was completely swept away by Lizzy and Roman's story. Unforgettable.
Claire Douglas