We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The New Rector

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781398716469

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 15th August 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Pym

‘Rebecca’s wit, humour and brilliant observational skills put her in the forefront of village storytelling. I never tire of reading her wonderful novels’ Jack Sheffield

‘Winning novels of village life’ The Times

A delightful beginning that suddenly gets darker and more dramatic than expected. Totally believable characters and a story line with unexpected twists’ Margaret Dickinson

When Peter Harris arrives in Turnham Malpas as the new rector, he finds the village people welcoming but set in their ways. Yet despite his own weaknesses, and a deeply felt sadness his wife keeps hidden, he comforts and advises his new parishioners, growing more and more involved with the rural way of life.

Then the whole village is rocked by spiteful trick that goes terribly wrong, and a gruesome murder that points to a killer in its midst. Now, more than ever, Peter’s pastoral role is crucial – and yet he is wrestling with his own private hell that may still wreck his own life.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A lovely book with finely drawn characters in an idyllic setting and a storyline full of surprises. I feel I could walk into the village and immediately know everyone I met. A delightful beginning that suddenly gets darker and more dramatic than expected. Totally believable characters and a story line with unexpected twists
Margaret Dickinson, author of WARTIME FRIENDS
If you enjoy stories about English villagers, do whatever you have to do, but get these books. Bliss!
Publishers Weekly
Tender and funny
My Weekly
Rebecca's wit, humour and brilliant observational skills put her in the forefront of village storytelling. I never tire of reading her wonderful novels
Jack Sheffield
Winning novels of village life
The Times