Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Something to Live For

Something to Live For

‘A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling’ Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party

Sometimes you have to risk everything to find your something…

All Andrew wants is to be normal. He has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that’s what he’s told people.

The truth is, his life isn’t exactly as people think and his little white lie is about to catch up with him.

Because in all Andrew’s efforts to fit in, he’s forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it’s about time for him to start.

Your favourite authors have all got Something to Live For…

‘Funny, moving and uplifting…I loved it’ Libby Page, bestselling author of The Lido

‘Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming’ Holly Bourne, bestselling author of How Do You Like Me Now?

‘Funny, moving and thought-provoking – I loved this’ Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me Lie

‘I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart – in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. What an extraordinary debut’ Gill Hornby, bestselling author of The Hive
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 27th June 2019

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9781409185598

Reviews

Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!
Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY
Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut.
Gill Hornby
Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE.
Holly Bourne
The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem.
Rebecca Thomas, BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019
Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it.
Libby Page, author of THE LIDO
Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this.
Clare Mackintosh

Events