Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Something to Live For

Something to Live For

No one wants to die without having really lived

Andrew works with death for a living. Searching for people’s next of kin and attending the funerals if they don’t have anyone, he’s desperate to avoid the same fate for himself. Which is fine, because he has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that’s what he’s told people.

The truth is, his life isn’t exactly as people think and the little white lie he once told in the past is about to catch up with him.

Because in all Andrew’s efforts to not die alone, he’s forgotten one important thing: how to live. And maybe, it’s about time for him to start.

(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 27th June 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781409185635

Reviews

Richard Roper has crafted a compelling mystery in this clever and uplifting debut... Something to Live For is a story about the problems we encounter as human beings and the connections that save us.
Sarah Gilmartin, IRISH TIMES
Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!
Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY
This perfect, quirky summer page-turner... a life-affirming debut.
Sharmaine Lovegrove, SUNDAY TIMES STYLE
A definite contender for my book of the year . . . funny, heartbreaking and cleverly observed
Claire Frost
Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this.
Clare Mackintosh
This could almost be the tie-in novel for a Richard Curtis romcom... Something To Live For benefits from the same earnest charm.
Thomas Barrie, GQ
[An] off-beat and winning debut..., [Something To Live For] earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name.
WALL STREET JOURNAL
Quirky and heartfelt... Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections.
KIRKUS REVIEWS
A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny all at once.
WOMAN'S OWN
Warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together
Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of the THE FLATSHARE
A poignant but uplifting novel that's related with great compassion and humour.
Fanny Blake, DAILY MAIL
Nick Hornby and David Nicholls' quirky love child would write like Richard Roper. Something to Live For is endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness
Caroline Smailes
Gentle comedy and these characters' innately kind natures enriches what might have been starkly sad moments... [Roper] admirably tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it's easy to root for.
USA TODAY
Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it.
Libby Page, author of THE LIDO
Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE.
Holly Bourne
A sweetly poignant debut.
Eithne Farry, SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE
Endearing and delightful.
Nina Pottell, PRIMA
Something To Live For is a heart-warming, funny yet poignant debut novel. Exploring loneliness and family breakdown, Richard Roper has created a cast of colourful and weirdly wonderful characters. An uplifting and life-affirming read.
Anne Cater, DAILY EXPRESS
A poignant, superbly funny debut novel about love, loneliness and the many ways life doesn't always go to plan.
WATERSTONES
Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut.
Gill Hornby
Darkly humorous.
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem.
Rebecca Thomas, BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019
Endearing.
Patricia Nicol, SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE
Richard Roper's debut is heart-breaking, uplifting, funny and brimming with human kindness.
SUNDAY HERALD
It's no surprise that TV rights to this funny, tender and all-the-feels book have already been snapped up.
Sarra Manning, RED
This is a story that gets under your skin - and a must read.
Natasha Harding, THE SUN
I loved this novel with my whole heart.
THE NEW YORK TIMES
A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story.
Dinah Jefferies via Twitter
If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read... We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut.
Claire Frost, FABULOUS
Tragic, sweet, and hopeful... This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.
BOOKLIST
A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!
Matt Dunn
Life-affirming...moments of hilarity while conveying a message about stepping out of comfort zones
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
Roper's delightful debut is as funny as it is touching... This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible.
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny... an inspiring, life-affirming read.
Zoe West, WOMAN'S WEEKLY
Eleanor Oliphant for men
David Sexton, EVENING STANDARD

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan