Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Something to Live For

Something to Live For

No one wants to die without having really lived

Andrew works with death for a living. Searching for people’s next of kin and attending the funerals if they don’t have anyone, he’s desperate to avoid the same fate for himself. Which is fine, because he has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that’s what he’s told people.

The truth is, his life isn’t exactly as people think and the little white lie he once told in the past is about to catch up with him.

Because in all Andrew’s efforts to not die alone, he’s forgotten one important thing: how to live. And maybe, it’s about time for him to start.

(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 27th June 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781409185635

Reviews

Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!
Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY
Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it.
Libby Page, author of THE LIDO
Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE.
Holly Bourne
The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem.
Rebecca Thomas, BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019
Gentle comedy and these characters' innately kind natures enriches what might have been starkly sad moments... [Roper] admirably tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it's easy to root for.
USA TODAY
Quirky and heartfelt... Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections.
KIRKUS REVIEWS
A definite contender for my book of the year . . . funny, heartbreaking and cleverly observed
Claire Frost
I loved this novel with my whole heart.
THE NEW YORK TIMES
Tragic, sweet, and hopeful... This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.
BOOKLIST
Warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together
Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of the THE FLATSHARE
[An] off-beat and winning debut..., [Something To Live For] earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name.
WALL STREET JOURNAL
Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this.
Clare Mackintosh
It's no surprise that TV rights to this funny, tender and all-the-feels book have already been snapped up.
Sarra Manning, RED
Darkly humorous.
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut.
Gill Hornby
Endearing and delightful.
Nina Pottell, PRIMA
This perfect, quirky summer page-turner... a life-affirming debut.
Sharmaine Lovegrove, SUNDAY TIMES STYLE
Nick Hornby and David Nicholls' quirky love child would write like Richard Roper. Something to Live For is endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness
Caroline Smailes
Roper's delightful debut is as funny as it is touching... This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible.
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!
Matt Dunn
Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters