We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Red Queen

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781409150725

Price: £9.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

THE RUMOURS ARE TRUE . . . GLOBAL SENSATION VICTORIA AVEYARD IS COMING BACK TO THE UK ON TOUR IN MARCH 2024! PRE-ORDER FATE BREAKER AND SECURE YOUR TICKETS TODAY!


__________________

The Hunger Games meets the X-Men in this internationally bestselling YA fantasy series soon to be a major TV show from the producers of Divergent directed by and starring Elizabeth Banks . . .
__________________

Set in a far-future post-apocalyptic America brimming with romance and revolution, Red Queen is a ferocious ode to the power and promise of resistance against the relentless fires of oppression – perfect for fans of Fourth Wing and The Bone Season.

‘All hail Victoria Aveyard – the new Queen of dystopian fiction’ GUARDIAN
‘Exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable’ USA TODAY
‘A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists’ SCI-FI NOW
‘It’s slick, it’s interesting, it’s gripping’ SFX
‘A volatile world with a dynamic heroine’ BOOKLIST
Breakneck pace’ SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL
‘A gaspworthy twist’ THE CENTER FOR CHILDREN’S BOOKS
‘Breathes new life into tired fantasy trends’ KIRKUS

WELCOME TO A WORLD DIVIDED BY BLOOD – RED OR SILVER

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers.

To Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red thief from the poverty-stricken Stilts where the only possible future is conscription into the empire’s endless war, it seems like nothing will ever change, especially now her brothers and her best friend have all been called up to spill their blood for their oppressor.

Then she finds herself recruited to work in the Silver Palace by an enigmatic stranger who turns out to be none other than the crown prince himself, Tiberias Calore. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that she possesses a deadly power of her own – one that threatens to upend their entire world order.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to Maven Calore, their future king’s brother. Even though she knows one misstep means certain death, Mare still works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, in a desperate guerrilla effort to bring down the Silver regime once and for all.

But this is a world not only of ultimate bloodshed but also of ultimate betrayal, and Mare has been sucked into a dangerous dance – Red against Silver, prince against prince, brother against brother, head against heart . . .

‘The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.’
__________________

Read the RED QUEEN series in full:

Book 1: RED QUEEN
Book 2: GLASS SWORD
Book 3: KING’S CAGE
Book 4: WAR STORM
Novellas collection: BROKEN THRONE

And don’t miss the Sunday Times-bestselling REALM BREAKER series:

Book 1: REALM BREAKER
Book 2: BLADE BREAKER
Book 3: FATE BREAKER
__________________

Victoria Aveyard’s book ‘Realm Breaker’ was a No. 7 Sunday Times bestseller w/c 03-05-2021.
Victoria Aveyard’s book ‘Blade Breaker’ was a No. 4 Sunday Times bestseller w/c 27-06-2022.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Aveyard weaves a compelling new world, and Mare and the two men in her life evolve intriguingly as class tension rises. Revolution supersedes romance, setting the stage for action-packed surprises. An inventive, character-driven twist breathes new life into tired fantasy trends.
KIRKUS
Red Queen simply blew me away... an exquisite debut from Aveyard, usually it takes a few books for an author to become a favourite, but Aveyard has managed to become a favourite with just one book
The Readers Den
In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has delivered a clever, slick and compelling debut. The dystopian novel will please fans of The Hunger Games but uses a supernatural twist to explore the theme of social injustice
We Love This Book
Trust us when we say that it will have you up late at night trying to finish the next chapter, next page, next line - or maybe the whole thing because this book is impossible to put down.
MAXIMUM POP!
A wonderful mash up of Ancient Rome and Marie Antoinette with a dash of Catherine Fisher's Incarceron and Ridley Scott's Gladiator, not to mention some of Marvel Comic's box of tricks . . . Exciting and original
Sam Hawksmoor, author of the Repossession Trilogy
Red Queen is a clever blend of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Graceling and Divergent
STARBURST
It's slick, it's interesting and ... gripping
SFX
A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists
SCI-FI NOW
A fantastic debut, with a perfect balance of epic, action filled scenes, cunning characters, mystery and a creative plot, RED QUEEN is a definite favourite and I cannot wait for more from this author
WHAT DANIELLE DID NEXT
This is the first book I read in 2015 and I'm glad I began the year with a book outside my comfort zone because I truly, truly enjoyed.
EMMALOUBOOKBLOG
Victoria Aveyard is a genuinely good writer... a dark gripping book that grips and surprises the reader
THE BOOKBAG
I enjoyed this book immensely... the plot of the book was well executed, the twists creeped up on me slowly but surely. The atmosphere Aveyard created was perfect
BOOKSFORBIRDS
Red Queen... Where do I start? As I sit here after closing the book just this second, with a shocked, enthralled, amazed brooding look on my face I think its safe to say that this book has royally floored me... If you're having hangovers over the Divergent series, or having withdrawal symptoms from the Hunger Games then this is the book that will get you out of that funk
DARK READERS
Red Queen is a debut bursting with betrayal, jealousy, love and rebellion and it's fantastic. YA fantasy is really on the up at the moment and Victoria Aveyard is going to be one of the leaders of the pack
SO LITTLE TIME FOR BOOKS
All hail Victoria Aveyard - the new Queen of dystopian fiction.
THE GUARDIAN CHILDRENS BOOKS
Unique and amazing . . . filled with twists and turns throughout. I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone as it is a great read and I can't wait for the sequel to be released.
THEGUARDIAN.COM