Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths

The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths

A woman starved to death. A tech genius with his hands hacked off. The heist of the century.

When DC Fiona Griffiths and her colleagues piece together the clues to several grim crimes, they realise they’re staring at one of the world’s most daring robberies. Fiona is asked to take on her toughest case yet: will she go undercover to penetrate this criminal gang from within?

When Fiona says yes, she has to give up her old life entirely. She becomes Fiona Grey, a homeless woman struggling to get her life back together again. When the criminal gang adopt her as one of their own, she’s totally alone, vulnerable – and dangerous as hell.

Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:

‘With Detective Constable Fiona ‘Fi’ Griffiths, Harry Bingham…finds a sweet spot in crime fiction…think Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander…[or] Lee Child’s Jack Reacher… The writing is terrific’ The Boston Globe

‘The easiest five stars I’ve ever awarded a book. Fiona Griffiths is by far the most original detective I’ve come across’ Loretta Milan

Gritty, compelling…a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year’ USA Today

‘Compelling…a new crime talent to treasureDaily Mail

‘Fiona Griffiths may be the most fascinating protagonist in fiction. She is similar to Lisbeth Salander, an intelligent but profoundly damaged young woman, but Fiona is less hostile and more curious, sort of a good guy sociopath. This is definitely one my favourite thriller series’ Audrey, Top 500 Reviewer

Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:
1. Talking to the Dead
2. Love Story, With Murders
3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths
4. This Thing of Darkness
5. The Dead House
6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)

If you’re looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you’ve just found it.

** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th March 2015

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781409137245

Reviews

"This thriller shines like a diamond."
PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH
DC Fiona Griffiths is small, bullish and psychologically fragile - her vulnerability makes her much more interesting than the average gung-ho policewoman... A tense and unusual read."
THE LADY
"Good thrilling stuff."
BUZZ
This is a police procedural with a twist. Quirky, gripping and, rather like its lead character, utterly unconventional. That's what makes it such a delight to read. Highly recommended.
CRIME THRILLER GIRL
A thoroughly engrossing book that is as much the story of one woman's search for an identity as it is crime thriller.
SHOTS
"[THE STRANGE DEATH OF FIONA GRIFFITHS] confronts the reader with profound questions about human nature in the midst of a fast-paced plot."
SUNDAY TIMES
A series that started strongly but is definitely getting even better... Bingham has created a unique character, not Wales' answer to Rebus but better in a number of ways.
WESTERN MAIL
Exceptional ... Absorbing ... Fiona's narrative sears the pages.
KIRKUS REVIEWS
Very exciting ... well informed and well written. Read this novel.
Literary Review
Bingham's novels always contain something unexpected. This fast-moving novel contains some of the most ingenious murder methods in modern crime fiction.
Sunday Times
Gritty, compelling ... a [police] procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year.
USA Today
With Detective Constable Fiona 'Fi' Griffiths, Harry Bingham ... finds a sweet spot in crime fiction ... think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander ... Denise Mina's 'Paddy' Meehan [or] Lee Child's Jack Reacher ... The writing is terrific.
Boston Globe
Fiona Griffiths may be the most fascinating protagonist in fiction. She is similar to Lisbeth Salander, an intelligent but profoundly damaged young woman, but Fiona is less hostile and more curious, sort of a good guy sociopath. I couldn't put it down. This is definitely one of my very favorite thriller series. I love this character and I hope I have the chance to read many more. Harry Bingham is a genius and one hell of a writer.
Audrey, Top 500 Reviewer
A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist ... We have the welcome promise of more books to come.
The Seattle Times
A dark delight, and I look forward to Fiona's future struggles with criminals, her demons and the mysteries of her past.
Washington Post
The easiest five stars I've ever awarded a book. Fiona Griffiths is by far the most original fictional detective I've come across ... [the book] made me feel breathless with worry, concern and eventually fear for Fiona.
Loretta Milan
An even more intense plot and richer character study than his first ... Fiona's past mental problems and her unconventional personality make her a distinctive lead.
Publishers Weekly, (starred review)
Some of the most memorably staccato narration in the genre ... [Bingham's] remote, unquenchable heroine makes her stand apart from every one of her procedural brothers and sisters.
Kirkus Reviews
Compelling ... a new crime talent to treasure
DAILY MAIL
Praise for gripping, atmosphere Fiona Griffiths crime thriller series: Chilling, atmospheric and so gripping it hurts. You won't read a better crime novel this year
MARK EDWARDS
Intriguing and compelling - I love Fiona Griffiths
SHARON BOLTON
In a word - brilliant. One of the most enjoyable crime novels I've read in a while
JAMES OSWALD
Compelling and claustrophic, Without a doubt, Fiona Griffiths is one of crime's most memorable heroines
SARAH HILARY
One of the most interesting and complicated protagonists in current UK crime fiction. Truly unforgettable
MICK HERRON
Fiona Griffiths is one of the most unusual and engaging characters in British crime fiction. Those who haven't yet encountered Fiona will be drawn into a beautifully crafted world
SINEAD CROWLEY
Gripping...Fiona Griffiths kept me hooked to the last page and left me hungry for more
RACHEL ABBOTT