Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Luna

Luna

Luna is a gripping thriller about five corporate families caught in a bitter battle for supremacy in the harsh environment of the moon. It’s very easy to die on the moon, but with its vast mineral wealth it’s also easy to make your fortune.

Following the fortunes of a handful of disparate characters, from one of the lowliest workers on the moon to the heads of one of the most powerful families, LUNA provides a vast mosaic of life on this airless and terrifying new home for humanity.

This is SF that will be perfect for fans of Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken Macleod alike.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 17th September 2015

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781473202252

Reviews

Luna is a remarkable novel! It is enormously clever and spectacularly visual and yet nothing overshadows the strength of its characterisation. A standout novel in a year that has been fantastic for science fiction.
For Winter's Nights
Overall, it's a really good read - the environment is convincing, the characters wonderfully flawed and entirely believable, and the plot well-paced and gripping. It'll draw you into its world and refuse to let you out again. If you want to try an innovative piece of sci-fi, with a lot to say and a good means of exploring ways to say it, then this is the book for you.
SF&F Reviews
I will read anything that man writes-he is the most underappreciated genius working in the field today
Cory Doctorow
There's a lot of intrigue, some violence, rather more sex - healthily polymorphous and energetic, this - and all the pleasures of a cut-throat soap opera in space: a sort of Moon-Dome Dallas.
Adam Roberts, The Guardian
Imagine Ben Bova's Farside mixed up with Heinlein's Moon is a Harsh Mistress and David Wingrove's Chung Kuo series but then re-imagined for the 21st century, with a sexed-up, more global viewpoint and you'll get an idea of Luna. I foresee great things for this book and award nominations a-plenty. Recommended.
SFF World
Luna is a remarkable novel! It is enormously clever and spectacularly visual and yet nothing overshadows the strength of its characterisation. A standout novel in a year that has been fantastic for science fiction.
For Winter's Nights
This is masterful, adult SF and I can't wait to read the sequel.
BSFG
Luna: New Moon is the best moon novel I've seen in many years...Inasmuch as it challenges one of the cherished master narratives of SF, in which the moon is only a stepping-stone, and despite what it owes to the tropes of '70s-era social melodrama, McDon­ald's novel has some formidable SF stingers not far beneath its densely textured surface.
Locus Mag
Luna: New Moon is a world that has been intricately woven together by its author. It's compelling and thought-provoking, and all without relying on overbearing sci-fi clichés. Brilliantly done.
Sci-Fi Now
In its gravitas and tension and, alas, tragedy, it's damn near Shakespearian. Add to that all the compulsive qualities of A Song of Ice and Fire, as I suggested in the header: a setting so brilliantly built and deftly embellished that buying into it isn't ever an issue; a vast cast of characters as satisfying and sympathetic individually as they are as part of McDonald's elaborate ensemble; and a plot composed of so many threads that you never know where it's going to go-except that when it ends, it's destined to end terribly.
Tor.com
Ian McDonald is one of the very best SF writers in the world. His novels are fearless, brilliant wise...they illuminate and entertain spectacularly
Kim Stanley Robinson
"Luna: New Moon" is a refreshing and complex science fiction of the best kind - one that is universally clever and thought provoking, and one that stays with you long after you close the final page.
Upcoming 4 Me
McDonald has created a totally believable setting and does it with a deft touch....This is one of the best Science Fiction novels to reach the shelves this year. Indulge yourself.
SF Crowsnest
Provocative, gripping and prancingly adult, it's a stunning example of how good science-fiction can be, and proof that McDonald is one of the best writers currently working in the genre
SFX
McDonald creates a complex and fascinating civilization featuring believable technology, and the characters are fully developed, with individually gripping stories. Watch for this brilliantly constructed family saga on next year's award ballots.
Publishers Weekly