Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Red Herring Without Mustard

A Red Herring Without Mustard

Welcome to Bishop’s Lacey. A murder every country mile



For eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, a visit to a Gypsy fortune-teller is just a bit of fun – until the old woman claims to see a vision of Flavia’s mother, who died when Flavia was a baby. When the Gypsy is brutally attacked, Flavia wonders if her appearance in the village has stirred up memories of a tragic event from the past.

Flavia starts down a dark and twisting road to discover the truth – but when a corpse is found in the grounds of Buckshaw, the de Luce family seat, it seems as if the heart of the mystery is disturbingly close to home.

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
‘The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite’ Mail on Sunday

‘A cross between Dodie Smith’s I Capture The Castle and the Addams family…delightfully entertaining’ Guardian

Fans of M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:
1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag
3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows
5. Speaking From Among the Bones
6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust
8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d
9. The Grave’s a Fine and Private Place

If you’re looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 31st March 2011

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781409122616

Reviews

Flavia is enchanting
New York Times
Flavia is mercilessly addictive
Daily Telegraph
Certain to become a national treasure
Daily Mail
A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing
Independent
Delightfully entertaining
Guardian
It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild
Crime Squad
A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises
Essentials
Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun!
Good Book Guide
At once precocious and endearing. Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference
Choice
Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders: The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite
Mail on Sunday
Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous
Deadly Pleasures