We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

CWA Dagger awards, 2007

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780752883212

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 15th March 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Meet Flavia: Mystery Solver. Master Poisoner. 11 Years Old.



England 1950. At Buckshaw, the crumbling country seat of the de Luce family, very-nearly-eleven-year-old Flavia is plotting revenge on her older sisters.

Then a dead bird is left on the doorstep, which has an extraordinary effect on Flavia’s eccentric father, and a body is found in the garden. As the police descend on Buckshaw, Flavia decides to do some investigating of her own.

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
‘The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite’ Mail on Sunday

‘A cross between Dodie Smith’s I Capture The Castle and the Addams family…delightfully entertaining’ Guardian

Fans of M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:
1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag
3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows
5. Speaking From Among the Bones
6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust
8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d
9. The Grave’s a Fine and Private Place

If you’re looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Certain to become a national treasure
Daily Mail
Flavia is mercilessly addictive
Daily Telegraph
Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders: The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite
Mail on Sunday
At once precocious and endearing, Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference
Choice
Flavia is enchanting
New York Times
It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild
Crime Squad
Delightfully entertaining
Guardian
Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun!
Good Book Guide
A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing
Independent
Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous
Deadly Pleasures
A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises
Essentials