Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

Sunny skies, sleep water…and a sinister corpse

Flavia is enjoying the summer, spending her days punting along the river with her reluctant family. Languishing in boredom, she drags a slack hand in the water, and catches her fingers in the open mouth of a drowned corpse.

Brought to shore, the dead man is found to be dressed in blue silk with ribbons at the knee, and wearing a single red ballet slipper.

Flavia needs to put her super-sleuthing skills to the test to investigate the murder of three gossips in the local church, and to keep her sisters out of danger. But what could possibly connect the son of an executed killer, a far too canny police constable, a travelling circus, and the publican’s mysteriously talented wife?

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
‘The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite’ Mail on Sunday

‘A cross between Dodie Smith’s I Capture The Castle and the Addams family…delightfully entertaining’ Guardian
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 23rd August 2018

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781409172895

Reviews

A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises
Essentials
Flavia is mercilessly addictive
Daily Telegraph
As usual, Bradley makes his improbable series conceit work and relieves the plot's inherent darkness with clever humor.
Publishers Weekly
At once precocious and endearing. Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference
Choice
Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders: The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite
Mail on Sunday
It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild
Crime Squad
Delightfully entertaining
Guardian
Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun!
Good Book Guide
Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous
Deadly Pleasures
Flavia is enchanting
New York Times
Despite a climactic attempt on her life, Bradley's unquenchable heroine brings "the most complicated case I had ever come across" to a highly satisfying conclusion, with the promise of still brighter days ahead.
Kirkus
Certain to become a national treasure
Daily Mail
A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing
Independent