Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Speaking from Among the Bones

Speaking from Among the Bones

An ancient tomb…a very modern murder



When the tomb of St Tancred is opened, no one expects to find the body of the organist, lying in a pool of blood, his handsome features covered by a gas mask.

Eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce is intrigued. Why would anyone want to kill the much-admired organist in such a brutal and bizarre fashion?

Why place his body in the tomb? And what happened to the remains of the previous occupant?

The mystery leads Flavia deep into the past, to a strange story of lost manuscripts and ancient relics…

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:
‘The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite’ Mail on Sunday

‘A cross between Dodie Smith’s I Capture The Castle and the Addams family…delightfully entertaining’ Guardian

Fans of M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:
1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag
3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows
5. Speaking From Among the Bones
6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust
8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d
9. The Grave’s a Fine and Private Place

If you’re looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 27th March 2014

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781409118183

Reviews

At once precocious and endearing. Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference
Choice
Flavia is mercilessly addictive
Daily Telegraph
Delightfully entertaining
Guardian
Flavia is enchanting
New York Times
Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders: The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite
Mail on Sunday
Certain to become a national treasure
Daily Mail
A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing
Independent
Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun!
Good Book Guide
It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild
Crime Squad
Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous
Deadly Pleasures
A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises
Essentials